This bond may also be referred to as Overweight, Over Gross, Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit Bond, Overweight Tolerance Bond, Oversize/Overweight Permit, OS/OW, Over Axle and Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit Bond
What is a surety bond, and why do I need one for my Texas Over Axle and Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit?
A surety bond is a three-way agreement between a Principal (the individual applying for an overweight/oversize permit who is not registered as a commercial motor carrier in Texas), an Obligee (Texas Department of Motor Vehicles, Motor Carrier Division), and a surety company (the company financially backing the bond). A surety bond is NOT an insurance policy for the Principal. Instead, it protects the Obligee and Texas public from any financial obligations due to damages caused by the permitted driver on a highway managed by the Texas DOT or any County Commissioner’s Court. This bond is a guarantee that the permit-holder understands all laws and requirements pertaining to their Over Axle and Over Gross Weight Tolerance Permit, and accepts all liabilities that may arise from their operation under the permit.
This bond is written for the amount of $15,000, and costs $150 for a 1-year term. Approval for this bond does not require underwriting, and therefore does not require a credit check.
In the event that there is a claim made against your bond, your surety will make the initial payments for damages. You will be obligated to fully repay your surety for the amount paid. In addition to repayments, your surety company may revoke your bond, at which point your permit will be invalid until you are able to file another bond. Claims made against your bond are marks against your “credit” in the surety bond market, meaning that a history of claims will complicate future bond applications. Be sure to understand the terms of your permit and bond, and operate within the guidelines to avoid claims and other obligations.
What are the hours of operation for the Oversize/Overweight Permits Office?
Mon-Friday 7 a.m. – 5 p.m.
Saturday 6 a.m. – 2 p.m.
*You must call 30 minutes prior to close.
*These times are subject to change. Please refer to the obligee website.
What are the size and weight Limits?
Please follow the below link for specific limits:
How do I know what type of permit I need?
For information regarding which permit you will be required to hold, please contact the Texas Permitting & Routing Optimization System, at 1-800-299-1700, or visit the link below:
Your bond will be issued within 1-3 days after you submit a completed application and payment.